moments before the wind.

May 14, 2006

mary don’t you weep no more

Filed under: indie, live shows, music, news, rock — alimarcus @ 6:21 pm

I was just skimming through a calendar of upcoming concerts, and all in one blurb (For Jones Beach, in NY) I felt like I was in a time warp. The listing goes like this:

Foreigner and Styx (May 26), Def Leppard and Journey (June 24), Counting Crows and the Goo Goo Dolls (Aug. 3-4) — as well as Bauhaus and Nine Inch Nails (June 17), Kelly Clarkson (July 12), the Black Crowes and Robert Randolph with the Drive-By Truckers (July 19), Fiona Apple and Damien Rice (July 22), Ashlee Simpson (July 23), Marc Anthony (Aug. 5), John Fogerty and Willie Nelson (Aug. 11), Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young (Aug. 22-23), Roger Waters (Sept. 15) and Santana (Sept. 16).

I am aware that many of these acts are still producing important and great work, and that also there are a few exceptions, but in general, I am shocked by the preponderance of old guys. Bands who's heyday was…not in this miillenium. Now, there are a few shows here that I'd love to see (and are coming to Seattle, as well), but I'm left wondering something similar to what Neil Young is wondering.

Where are the young'uns? Where are the people who have captivated the masses? In fact, are there young bands that have been able to do that? I realize that I may be in denial about the fact that Ashlee Simpson and Kelly Clarkson fill the role, but I think my questions go deeper. Have "pop" and "indie rock" become so split that a mass audience is no longer possible? Does any of this matter? I guess I was just surprised. Most of my favorite favorite bands had their heyday in the 90's or before, so maybe I am guilty of the same as everyone else. It might not be guilt either; maybe it's more to do with age.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

