moments before the wind.

July 13, 2006

you fake just like a woman

Filed under: authenticity, live shows, marketing, music, news, reviews, writing — alimarcus @ 7:19 am

Mr. Kelefa Sanneh published an article in today’s NYT. And, for the first time, I think ever, I really enjoyed it. It’s funny. It’s about Justin Timberlake. Is this not funny?:

And there’s no particular reason to think that on his forthcoming album, “FutureSex/LoveSounds,” due Sept. 12, he will continue the fight on behalf of “sexy” boys everywhere. (Though it seems his assault on the lowly space bar WillNotEnd/AnytimeSoon.)

Maybe Justin Timberlake is too obvious of a target. Though I wouldn’t say there’s any major critique going on. Sanneh even begins to compare JT to Prince, just a little bit, and that’s sort of true, though not many people would like to admit it at this stage. The Musician Most Like Prince is, in my book, Beck. But that’s just musically; these things about sex appeal I can’t really judge b/c I missed the boat on Prince, whether a result of age or just lack of exposure.

on another note:

Last night at the Hopvine a couple next to me was paying their check and I was eavesdropping on their conversation.

He: mumble mumble mumble, looking for Eddie Vedder

She: mumble mumble

He: I mean, that’s why people come to these things, hoping that he’ll show up, or something, right?

She: mumble mumble mumble

He: Or someone like him

I guess I couldn’t understand a lot of the words. But he’s definitely wrong. Practice. That’s why we go. Well, that’s why I go, anyways. Also to see friends and to hear their music. More on the friends and the music tomorrow, post Song Circle.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

